## CYBERSECURITY ADVISORY COMMITTEE

# Hybrid Meeting Thursday, November 9, 2023, 2:00 PM

In-Person at the Department of Information Technology 715 Alta Vista, Santa Fe, NM 87505

#### 1. WELCOME AND CALL TO ORDER

Ms. Narvaiz called the meeting to order at 2:02 p.m. and welcomed everyone to the meeting. She reviewed general procedures for those attending via Zoom.

#### 2. ROLL CALL

## **MEMBERS PRESENT**

Raja Sambandam, Chair
Jason Johnson
Robert Benavidez
Logan Fernandez for Cassandra Hayne
Seth Morris for Raul Burciaga
Todd Ulses

Clinton Nicely
Josh Rubin
Phil Zamora for Sarita Nair
Cecilia Mavrommantis for Wayne Propst
Danielle Gilliam for James Kenny

### **MEMBERS ABSENT**

Kenneth Abeyta Suzanne Begay Carnley Gauna for James Mountain

### OTHERS PRESENT

Renee Narvaiz, PIO-DoIT Melissa Gutierrez, DoIT Project Mgr. Todd Baran, State OAG

Todd Glanzer (Deloitte), William Campos (Deloitte), Rick Comeau (Deloitte), Francisco Lopez, Janelle Frederick, Jacqueline Lovato, Flori Martinez

## 3. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

**MOTION** Ms. Narvaiz called for a motion to approve the Agenda for today's meeting. Mr. Johnson so moved, seconded by Mr. Benavidez. There being no opposition, the Agenda was approved.

#### 4. APPROVAL OF MEETING MINUTES

**MOTION** Ms. Narvaiz called for a motion to approve the minutes of the November 2, 2023 meeting. Mr. Benavidez so moved seconded by Mr. Johnson. There being no opposition the minutes were approved.

## 5. Updates from Committee Chair – Raja Sambandam

Chair Sambandam reported that he recently met with the Science, Technology and Telecommunication interim committees of the state legislature and gave a presentation which primarily pertained to the Department of Information Technology budget, however, there was a component that related to cybersecurity and wanted to inform the Committee about this. He stated there were several questions raised, particularly one about participation levels from

various branches of the state government and he responded to this based on the information currently available concerning the portfolio of services being provided.

He also reported that next week he will be speaking with the Legislative Finance Committee presenting more information about the budget for the Department of Information Technology, a component of which is the budget for the Office of Cybersecurity. Within this budget there will be a request for expansion of both the Department of Information Technology and the Office of Cybersecurity, which will basically be asking for additional \_\_\_\_\_\_ (?FDEs). The Office of Cybersecurity is seeking six \_\_\_\_\_\_ (?FDEs) to manage, monitor and administer the existing program being scaled for all participants in the new universe as services are now being offered to other entities beyond the executive branch agencies, to include local governments, higher education institutions, etc. These additional \_\_\_\_\_\_(?FDEs) will be for program management and support.

### 6. Vote to adopt the 2023 Cybersecurity Report

Mr. Johnson moved to enter into closed session per Section 9-27A-5(D) NMSA 1978 code, to discuss minor changes to the report prior to the final vote. Mr. Benavidez seconded the motion. There being no opposition the meeting moved into closed session at 2:10 p.m. All non-Committee members were asked to exit the meeting room and all non-Committee member Zoom participants were moved into the Zoom waiting room during this time.

Mr. Johnson moved to return to open session at 2:57 p.m., stating that no matters were undertaken in the closed session other than discussion of the report, and to adopt the 2023 Cybersecurity Report with the edits made during the closed session. This was seconded by Mr. Ulses. Roll call vote was conducted by Ms. Narvaiz. Motion passed.

Ms. Gutierrez and Mr. Johnson expressed thanks and congratulated the Committee and the Report Subcommittee members for their work getting this Report prepared in such a timely manner.

Chair Sambandam also expressed his appreciation for everyone's participation and hard work.

#### 7. Public Comment

Chair Sambandam opened the floor for public comment. None was offered.

### 8. Adjournment

There being no public comment Mr. Johnson moved to adjourn, seconded by Mr. Ulses. There being no objection and no further business before the Committee the meeting adjourned at 3:03 p.m.



Raja Sambandam, Committee Chair, State CISO